top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Wagon Wheels

Updated: Jul 13, 2019

It is time to take a trip down memory lane, but let’s make this trip a healthier one...


That’s right, this Wagon Wheel recipe is paleo, vegan, and is free from gluten, dairy and refined sugar, so it is perfect for those with food intolerances.

I take my hat off to whoever invented the Wagon Wheel. Who could get enough of the gooey marshmallow and raspberry jam filling sandwiched between two chocolate-coated crumbly biscuits? The classic Wagon Wheel biscuit still goes down as one of my favourite childhood treats, but I think my family’s love, particularly my mother’s, for the biscuit is stronger than my own. I had to hide my portion of the biscuits so my mother wouldn’t get her grabby fingers all over them.


Wagon Wheels were a regular in school lunchboxes when I was a child; however, I was not fortunate enough to find one in my own (thanks mum…). So, I used to try and trade my lunch with my friends in hope to enjoy the taste of the delicious Wagon Wheel. The only problem was, my lunch was too healthy for my fellow school friends. No one wanted to trade their tasty Wagon Wheel for my bland wholemeal sandwich. So, the only way I could eat a Wagon Wheel was if I pretended to forget to bring my lunch to school – I know, how terrible of me! My evil plan to work once however. I used to love pulling the Wagon Wheel apart and eating the biscuit, saving the gooey centre for last!


This Wagon Wheel recipe was made through the labour of love. Although the biscuit was easy to make, I had some trouble trying to make the ideal marshmallow. Those who are familiar with allergy-friendly baking, they would understand just as well as I, how complicated it is to create a healthy, yet tasty marshmallow. After many attempts, I realised that I could not produce a vegan/paleo marshmallow. The final batch was not sticky or overly sweet, it was rather creamy and smooth. I guess it will have to do!


Nevertheless, I know you guys will love the flavour combinations and textures of this recipe. Although it may not taste exactly the same as a traditional Wagon Wheel, it is still delicious, but most importantly, guilt-free!



Wagon Wheels

GF DF V P

Serves 8 - 10


INGREDIENTS:

Biscuit

· 3/4 cup almond meal

· 1/4 cup coconut flour

· 1/3 cup tapioca flour

· 1/3 cup coconut nectar

· 1/4 cup coconut sugar (refined)

· 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

· 1/4 cup coconut milk

· 1 tsp vanilla essence

· Pinch of salt


Marshmallow Filling

· 1/2 cup coconut cream

· 1/3 cup coconut oil

· 1/4 cup coconut nectar

· 1 tsp vanilla essence


Jam Filling

· 3/4 cup raspberry jam


Topping

· 1 cup vegan chocolate (roughly chopped)


METHOD:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees on fan bake. Mix all of the ingredients together in a food processor until completely combined. Place baking paper onto a tray. Use the size of a tablespoon to measure each biscuit. Place each biscuit flat and 3 cm apart. Put it in the oven for 10-13 minutes. After the biscuits have cooked, set them aside for 10-15 minutes to cool down.


To make the marshmallow filling, add the ingredients into a blender to blitz them together until smooth. Use a tablespoon to spread the mixture between every second biscuit. Next, use a tablespoon to measure and spread the jam filling on every second biscuit that is not covered in marshmallow. Sandwich two biscuits together, one covered in raspberry jam and the other in marshmallow, to form a complete wagon wheel.


Melt the chocolate in a saucepan over medium heat until smooth. Dip each wagon wheel into the chocolate. Place them into the fridge for 15 minutes to allow the chocolate to set.





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page