top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Snickers Candy Bar

Updated: Jul 16, 2019

These delicious gluten-free and vegan Snickers candy bars have a layer of raw peanut caramel smeared on a crumbly shortbread biscuit, all dunked in rich dark chocolate.


It has been such a long time since I have eaten a real Snickers candy bar, I’m talking like probably five to six years. However, I still remember its gooey, sweet taste… Thinking about eating one makes me miss the old days in which I could eat almost anything and not feel sick. But I suppose my intolerances are a blessing in disguise as it has forced me to eat a healthier diet full of colourful, wholesome foods.


After many attempts making different types of caramel from previous recipes that I have made, this Snickers recipe did not take me long at all to put together. I noticed how popular my raw Snickers cheesecake was so I knew that I had to make a proper Snickers candy bar recipe to share. Finally, I created one that I have grown to love, almost more than the cheesecake version.


For the base, I created a baked shortbread biscuit as I am such a fan of crumbly biscuits and cookies. However, you don’t have to bake your base if you don’t want to, in fact, the batter uncooked taste quite scrumptious too. Plus, eating the batter raw isn’t tough on the stomach as there are no animal products incorporated, such as eggs.


Now, some you may think that the peanut butter caramel layer is a bit too heavy or fatty, but don’t worry, I have only included good fats in my recipes. However, if you know that your stomach cannot tolerate highly fatty treats, you can always substitute the two tablespoons of coconut oil with an extra two tablespoons of coconut milk. If that is still too much for you to handle, you can always try a different caramel recipe from my blog and just sprinkle some roughly chopped peanuts into the caramel mixture before you smear it over the biscuits.


So, if you are craving candy but want to indulge in something a little healthier, these homemade gooey, caramelly, chocolate-coated Snickers bars are what you would be looking for! Enjoy!



Snickers Candy Bar

GF DF V

Serves 10 - 12


INGREDIENTS

Base

- 3/4 cup almond meal

- 1/4 cup coconut flour

- 1/4 cup tapioca flour

- 1/3 cup maple syrup

- 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

- Pinch of salt


Caramel

- 1/3 cup peanut butter

- 2 tbsp coconut milk

- 2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)

- 2 tbsp maple syrup


Topping

- 1/3 cup vegan chocolate (melted)

- 3 tbsp skinned peanuts (roughly chopped)


METHOD

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees on fan bake. To make the biscuit, mix of the all ingredients together in a food processor until completely combined. Place baking paper onto a tray. Spread the mixture evenly onto the baking tray. Put it in the oven for 10-15 minutes. After the biscuit has cooked, set it aside for 10-15 minutes to cool down. Use a knife to cut rectangular shapes for the base of each Snickers candy bar.


To make the caramel, mix all of the ingredients together until completely combined. Spread the caramel on top of each biscuit base. Place them in the fridge for 15 minutes until the caramel as completely set.


For the topping, melt the chocolate in a saucepan over medium heat until smooth and then add the roughly chopped peanuts. Dip each biscuit into the chocolate. Place the biscuits into the fridge for 15 minutes to allow the chocolate to set.





34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page