top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Oreo Biscuits

Updated: Jul 16, 2019

Not many people know this, but Oreo biscuits have been around for over 100 years! They were first created in 1912! I know Oreo biscuits have been around for a long time, but I didn’t realise that they have been a worldwide favourite for THAT LONG!


We have seen Oreos change and expand their range over time. There are countless of different flavours which have even been created to offer delicious and exciting Oreo products to consumers. Luckily for many vegans, the original Oreo biscuit is actually free from animal products! However, they are unfortunately filled with high-fructose syrup, and their ingredients are primarily made-up of wheat (gluten) and palm oil. I guess that’s what makes them so damn tasty!


I remember when my sister was younger, she was obsessed with Oreos. They were her favourite type of biscuit, and I believe they still are. But, just like me, she is trying to eat healthier and less of the nasty stuff. So, I knew I had to make a healthy version of the Oreo biscuit for my family to try. Lucky for you, I have decided to share the recipe. I know, how kind am I?


I have seen many food bloggers make Oreos that are free from gluten, dairy, soy and refined-sugar, and I knew I had to create my own version. This recipe isn’t perfect. You won't bite into these biscuits and automatically think of Oreos. But if you really want to mimic the taste of the real thing you can use cocoa powder instead of cacao powder (although I recommend against it because it's highly processed). This will achieve a darker colour and richer chocolate taste. Additionally, my recipe is made with almond meal to create a hard biscuit on the outside, yet a soft, moist middle texture.


I am quite pleased with how these Oreo biscuits tasted, so I thought it would be a great recipe to share with you guys. I hope you enjoy it and I would love to hear your feedback if you make this!



Oreo Biscuits

GF DF V P

Serves 12 - 14


INGREDIENTS

Biscuit

· 3/4 cup almond meal

· 1/4 cup tapioca flour

· 1/4 cup coconut flour

· 1/4 cup cacao powder

· 1/3 cup coconut nectar

· 1/4 cup coconut sugar

· 1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)

· Pinch of salt


Icing

· 1/2 cup coconut cream

· 1/4 cup coconut nectar

· 1/4 cup coconut oil

· 1 tsp vanilla essence


METHOD

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees on fan bake. Mix all of the ingredients together in a food processor until completely combined. Place baking paper onto a tray. Use the size of a tablespoon to measure each biscuit. Place each biscuit flat and 3 cm apart. Put it in the oven for 8-10 minutes. After the biscuits have cooked, set them aside for 10-15 minutes to cool down.


For the filling, add the ingredients into a blender to blitz them together until smooth. Use a tablespoon to spread the mixture between every second biscuit. Sandwich two biscuits together to form a complete Oreo.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page