top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Monte Carlo Biscuits

Updated: Jul 16, 2019

I dedicate this recipe to all the loves of Arnott’s biscuits that can no longer enjoy them due to their allergies!


Who is a fan of good ole Arnott’s biscuit selection? I know I am. Most Aussies love their delicious array of biscuits. So, it’s a sad day when you can no longer each Arnott’s biscuits due to certain dietary requirements. I found it unfair myself when I couldn’t even eat one of their biscuits without feeling some sort of unpleasant stomach symptom. So, why should we have to miss out? Especially something so iconic!


I don’t know if you guys have noticed, but Arnott’s slogan for their television ad of 2017 was, “Arnott’s. There is no substitute”. Sorry Arnott’s, not to criticise you or anything, but there is definitely a substitute for your biscuits, because I just made one for your Monte Carlo biscuits!


I made this recipe once before around Christmas time last year for a family member (you’re welcome!) who loves their sweets, particularly the naughty kind. They have a superior pallet and I know they would say if do or do not liked the taste of something. So, I thought that if I made a healthy version of Arnott’s Monte Carlo biscuits I would get a straightforward, honest opinion regarding taste. I was very pleased to hear that they thought my batch tasted very close to the real thing! Now I have the confidence to go forth and continue to make more of Arnott's unique, delicious biscuits!



Monte Carlo Biscuits


GF DF V P

Serves 10 - 12

INGREDIENTS

Biscuit

· 3/4 cup almond flour

· 1/2 cup tapioca flour

· 1/4 cup coconut flour

· 1/2 cup coconut oil

· 1/3 cup coconut nectar

· Pinch of salt


Filling

· 3/4 cup strawberry jam

· 1/2 cup coconut cream

· 2 tbsp coconut nectar

· 1/4 cup coconut oil

· 1 tsp vanilla essence


METHOD

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees on fan bake.


Mix of the all ingredients together in a food processor until completely combined. Place baking paper onto a tray. Use a tablespoon to measure the size of each biscuit. Lay each biscuit flat and 3 cm away from each other. Put the biscuits in the oven for 10-15 minutes. After the biscuits have cooked, set them aside for 10-15 minutes to cool down.


For the filling, add the coconut oil, coconut cream, coconut nectar, and the vanilla essence into a food blender to blitz them together until smooth. Use a tablespoon to spread the cream on every two biscuits. On the remaining biscuits without the cream, spread a layer of jam on one side. Press the biscuits with the cream and jam side together to form a complete Monte Carlo.





15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page