top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

MilkyWay Chocolates

Updated: Jan 27, 2019

Who Knew making candy bars at home could be so easy...

Maybe you can help me understand this, but I am curious to know why MilkyWay chocolates are not that popular? To me, they are bit size delight in wrapping. Perhaps I like them so much due to my nostalgic attachment to the chocolate.

When I used to live with my grandparents as a child, they used to reward me (or calm me down) with chocolate, but particularly MilkyWay chocolates. It was my go-to chocolate fix me up. If I felt cheeky, I would grab a chair, take it to the pantry, and attempt to reach the box of chocolate near the top shelf. As I grew over time, it became easier for me to reach, and I was able to escape a lot faster if I heard someone walking towards the kitchen.


So, to satisfy my nostalgic tic, I made my own healthy version that tastes almost the same as the conventional MilkyWay. Smooth and fudgy in the centre, and crisp yet delicate on the outside. My version had a thicker layer of chocolate, but you can make your chocolate layer thinner to mirror that of the traditional Milkyway.


The great thing about this recipe is that it is, in fact, paleo and vegan, also if you have an allergy to cashews you can use almost any other nut, but I do advise that almond butter works the best. Just substitute the ¾ cup of cashews with ½ cup of almond butter.

Hope you enjoy this one guys! I know I did!



MilkyWay Chocolate


GF DF V P

Serves 10 - 12


INGREDIENTS

Filling

· 3/4 cup cashews

· 2 tbsp coconut flour

· 2 tbsp cacao powder

· 1/4 cup coconut nectar

· 6 pitted dates

· 5 tbsp coconut cream

· 2 tbsp coconut oil (melted)


Chocolate

· 1 cup vegan chocolate (roughly chopped)


METHOD

Firstly, soak the cashews in water for 3 hours. Steam the dates until they become soft. Remove the skin of the dates and roughly chop them. Use a food blender to blitz the cashews and dates until smooth. Mix all of the ingredients in a food processor until completely combined. Place the mixture into a rectangular cake tin. Put the cake tin in the fridge for 2 hours until the filling has set.


Once the filling has hardened, cut it into small rectangular pieces. Melt the chocolate in a saucepan over medium heat until smooth. Dip each MilkyWay into the chocolate. Place the treats into the fridge for 10 minutes until the chocolate has set.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page