top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Salted Caramel Slice

Updated: Jul 12, 2019

After my Twix Bar recipe became an ultimate hit, I knew I had to make another dessert that would taste similar, but better!


After my Twix Bar recipe became an ultimate hit, I knew I had to make another dessert that would taste similar, but better! So, what do a lot of people love? They love their creamy, sweet, rich desserts. So, I had to create my own version of a delicious salted caramel slice. These may have the same layers as my Twix Bars; however, they taste quite different, perhaps you could say a bit more coconutty.


I made the caramel filling using a lot of coconut cream and coconut sugar, but I also added in enough salt to balance out those bold flavours. What really helps cut through the coconut taste, however, is the tasty vegan chocolate on top. We all know it’s not a traditional caramel slice without the chocolate layer!

What makes my salted caramel slices different from my Twix Bars is that their caramel layers are made using different ingredients. Caramel slices a known for being extremely sweet and creamy, and I knew I could achieve this by using coconut cream. However, what gives my salted caramel slices a unique twist is the added tahini spread (blended sesame seeds for those who don’t know what it is).


I was inspired to add tahini when I visited Pana Chocolate’s café in Richmond, Victoria. My partner and I ordered a salted caramel slice to share and I noticed that it had a distinct taste that I couldn’t put my finger on. After the first bite, however, I knew that whatever the ingredient was it definitely made the healthy plant-based salted caramel slice taste like a traditional, yet naughty, salted caramel slice. Then after a couple more mouthfuls, it hit me! They added tahini!


I made this recipe for my family twice. They told me that they loved it more the second time, and that second time was when I added tahini (didn’t come up with the idea of adding it the first time around). However, I kind of wished I served the dessert over 24 hours later because that’s when it tasted even better! I have no idea why though. A similar thing happened when I made my sister’s birthday cheesecake. I’m thinking it’s because the coconut flavour dies off overtime… ? Anyway, I hope you love these cuties just as much as I did! Enjoy!



Salted Caramel Slice

GF DF V P

Serves 12 - 15


INGREDIENTS

Base

- 1 cup almond meal

- 1/4 cup tapioca flour

- 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

- 1/4 cup coconut nectar

- 1 tsp vanilla essence


Caramel Filling

- 1 1/2 cup coconut cream

- 1/2 cup coconut sugar

- 2 tbsp coconut nectar

- 2 tbsp tahini spread

- 1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)

- 1/2 tsp salt


Topping

- 3/4 cup vegan chocolate (roughly chopped)


METHOD

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees on fan bake. To make the base, mix all of the ingredients together until smooth and sticky. Place baking paper in a rectangular cake tin. Evenly spread the mixture onto the base of the cake tin and then place it in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Take the cake tin out of the oven and put it aside for 10-15 minutes to allow the base to cool down.


To start making the caramel filling, place all of the ingredients into a saucepan. Bring it to boil on medium heat. Let the caramel boil for 1 minute whilst stirring consistently. Then turn the stove heat down to simmer for 10 minutes and continue to stir until the mixture begins to thicken. Once the caramel filling has slightly thickened, leave it aside for 15 minutes to cool down. Pour the caramel layer on top of the base. Put the cake tin in the fridge for 2-3 hours to allow the caramel filling to set.


Once the caramel has set, melt some vegan dark chocolate. Pour a thin layer on melted chocolate on top of the caramel layer. Put the cake tin back into the fridge for 5 minutes to allow the chocolate to set.





50 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page