top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Raw Cherry Ripe Slice

Transform the classic Cherry Ripe chocolate bar into the ultimate, tasty, plant-based dessert!


I am going to be completely honest with you… I did not like Cherry Ripe chocolate as a child, in fact, it was my least favourite. This was mainly due to the fact that I disliked the taste of cherries and dark chocolate. I would not eat treats or desserts that had fruit incorporated within them. I was very much a ‘plain Jane’ child.


Nevertheless, I have grown out of the fussy phase and have broadened my palate towards appreciating complex, unique flavours. I would not necessarily call Cherry Ripe chocolate unique; I believe that its flavour combinations are classical and complimentary of one another.


Now, I am not going to be the person to tell you that this dessert tastes exactly the same as the conventional Cherry Ripe chocolate bar, because it doesn’t. My dessert actually tastes quite different as it has been made with raw, wholesome ingredients. Despite this, my Cherry Ripe slice does, in fact, taste exceptionally delicious! I am not one to brag about my desserts unless I know that it is satisfying and tasty to the palate; thus, rest assured that this dessert ticks those boxes.


I loved how quick and easy this dessert was to make. I made this recipe when I was in the middle of my exam period. Usually, I cut back on baking during such stressful times. However, I had a strong craving for something rich and sweet, yet would be quick for me to put together. Therefore, I decided to make a Cherry Ripe dessert. Creating slices usually take a bit of time, but this batch was literally in the fridge before I knew it. I can be patient if I have to wait for my desserts to set or cool down; however, this time I honestly couldn’t wait (I blame my chocolate craving…).


Ultimately, I was quite surprised by how nicely balanced the flavours were in this dessert. The rich, dark chocolate wonderfully balanced against the fresh, creamy cherry filling. After I finished making the dessert, I had an idea of creating a cooked biscuit base instead of a raw base. I felt that the dessert needed another texture to complement it. I suppose I will have to experiment with this idea next time I make this dessert.


In all honesty, I would not suggest leaving these cuties unprotected in the kitchen without your name attached to it, because I believe this dessert is definitely a crowd pleaser. Do not worry, this dessert keeps for up to two weeks quite nicely in the fridge; however, I do not think it will last that long – if you love Cherry Ripe, then this treat will be eaten before you know it!



Raw Cherry Ripe Slice

GF DF V P

Serves 12 - 14


INGREDIENTS

Base

- 8 dates

- 1 1/4 cup almond meal

- 1/4 cup cacao powder

- 1/4 cup coconut flour


Filling

- 1 1/2 cup desiccated coconut

- 2/3 cup cherry puree

- 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

- 1/4 cup cashews

- 2 tbsp coconut nectar

- 1 tsp vanilla essence


Topping

- 1 cup vegan chocolate (roughly chopped)


METHOD

Steam or boil the dates until they become soft. Remove the skin of the dates and roughly chop them. Use a blender to blitz the dates into a puree. Mix all of the ingredients together until smooth and sticky. Place baking paper into a rectangular cake tin. Spread the mixture evenly in the cake tin.


For the filling, soak the cashews in water for 3 hours or boil them for 15 minutes until they become soft. Use a food blender to blitz the cashews until smooth. Mix all of the ingredients in a food processor until completely combined. Pour the mixture into the cake tin. Put the cake tin in the freezer for 3 hours until the filling has set.


Melt the chocolate in a saucepan over medium heat until smooth. Pour the chocolate evenly over the cherry filling. Place the cake tin in the fridge for 15 minutes to allow the chocolate to set.





17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page