top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Ferrero Rocher Tarts

Updated: Jul 14, 2019

Attention chocolate lovers! If you love the combination of rich, dark chocolate and crunchy hazelnut, then this is the dessert for you!


For those who don’t even know that they like chocolate might actually be surprised by this treat. I know my younger sister was. My sister isn’t one for highly sweet, indulgent desserts, particularly ones that have a strong chocolate flavour. However, to my surprise, and hers of course, she couldn’t get enough of this chocolate tart. Even though, it was extremely rich and quite filling, she couldn’t wait until she had room in her stomach for more.


Because I too, loved this tart so much, I was worried that she was going to eat my share before I could even get to it. I am sure some people reading this could resonate with me when it comes to siblings eating your share of food.

I discovered when making this dessert a second time that almond butter also works quite well for a creamy filling of frozen desserts. In my opinion, I think it sits nicer in the stomach than cashews or cashew butter, which I use in a lot of my cheesecakes. In addition to this, the taste of the hazelnut or almond butter is not as overpowering as cashews, which allows you to really taste the chocolate in this dessert. So, I suggest that if you do not like the strong flavour or heaviness of cashews, try experimenting with almond butter instead.



Ferrero Rocher Tarts


GF DF V P

Serves 5 - 6


INGREDIENTS

Base

· 3/4 cup hazelnut meal

· 1/4 cup almond meal

· 1/4 cup cacao powder

· 1/3 cup coconut oil (melted)

· 1/4 cup coconut nectar


Filling

· 1/2 cup hazelnut butter (can make your own – instructions in the method)

· 1/2 cup coconut milk

· 1/3 cup coconut nectar

· 1/4 cup cacao powder

· 1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)


Topping

· 1/3 cup hazelnuts (roughly chopped)

· 1 tbsp coconut nectar


METHOD

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees on fan bake. To make the base, mix of the all ingredients together in a food processor until completely combined. Place baking paper into a tart tin covering the inside walls and base. Spread the mixture evenly onto the base of the tart tin. Put it in the oven for 8-10 minutes. Take the tart tine out of the oven and allow the base to cool down for 10-15 minutes.


For the filling, use a food processor to mix the ingredients together. Pour the chocolate hazelnut filling into the tart tin. Put aside into the fridge for 3 hours.


To make the topping, place all of the dry ingredients into a bowl. Add the coconut nectar into the bowl and mix all of the ingredients together until completely combined. Spread the mixture evenly over baking paper on a flat tray. Put the tray into the oven and bake for 10-15 minutes until golden brown. Allow the hazelnuts to cool down for 10-15 minutes.





29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page