top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Chocolate Magnums

Chocolate magnums with a roasted almond crunch. Although they are not the classic version, they are definitely mouth-watering...


I am a sucker for ice-cream! Any flavour for me would just about do. It was hard for me to face the fact that I couldn’t eat conventional ice-cream when I first became intolerant to dairy. However, with lots of research and inspiration, I was able to create my own allergy-friendly ice-cream flavours. One of my favourites is this particular magnum recipe that I put together. Its free from gluten, dairy, refined-sugar, and it’s suitable for all paleo and vegan lovers!


This raw chocolate magnum is the ideal ‘healthy’ substitute for the real thing. One of the best things about this magnum recipe, besides its delicious taste, is that I made it as simple as possible which allows you substitute or add any extra flavours or ingredients you desire.

Also, if you are feeling particularly cheeky, instead of adding cacao butter or cacao powder, you can melt vegan chocolate into the raw ice-cream mixture. It is an easier option that will deliver a richer taste. So, if you are the indulgent kind don’t hesitate to try this option.


Additionally, you might be surprised that I decided to use cacao butter instead of coconut oil, but the reason being is because it highlights the chocolatey flavours in the magnum. Plus, coconut oil can cause a dessert to taste too coconutty, and I know some people, like myself, can only handle the taste of coconut in small doses.



Chocolate Magnums


Serves 4 - 5

GF DF V P


INGREDIENTS

Ice-cream

- 3/4 cup coconut cream

- 1/2 cup cashews

- 3 tbsp cacao powder

- 1/4 cup cacao butter (melted)

- 1/2 cup coconut sugar

- 1 tsp vanilla extract


Topping

- 1 cup vegan chocolate (melted)

- 1/2 cup roasted almonds (roughly chopped)


METHOD

To make the ice-cream, soak the cashews in water for 3 hours. Use a food blender to blitz the cashews until smooth. Mix all of the ingredients in a food processor until completely combined. Pour the mixture into ice-cream moulds and place it in the freezer for 3 hours until the ice-cream sets.


For the topping, dip the ice-creams into the melted vegan chocolate. Quickly sprinkle the roasted almonds on top of the chocolate before it solidifies. Place the magnums on baking paper and then put them aside in the fridge for 15 minutes to allow the chocolate to set.





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page