top of page
Writer's pictureJessica Karvelis

Caramel Banana Sundae

Updated: Jul 12, 2019

Want to get a little creative in the kitchen? Look no further! This caramel banana sundae is a combination of many plant-based eaters favourite wholesome ingredients!


There has been a significant trend for simple, healthy vegan ice-creams. If you scroll through Instagram you are guaranteed to see many banana based ice-creams, also known as ‘Nice Cream’. However, if you would like to make something a little more complex in flavour and creativity, then perhaps give this recipe a go!


My recipe is slightly fancier in respect to the caramel sauce, peanut butter and vegan vanilla ice-cream that I have added. Incorporating these ingredients have turned this recipe into a creamy, insanely sweet dessert!


Do not hesitate to put your own personal spin to this sundae. Feel free to add some chocolate sauce or roughly chopped nuts for that extra crunch. I would recommend sprinkling some shaved vegan dark chocolate on top of the vanilla ice-cream. It will provide a great contrast in flavour.


Also, if you are not sure which ice-cream to use, I suggest Pana Chocolate’s vegan vanilla ice-cream. It is completely organic and is free from gluten, dairy, refined sugar, but most importantly it is 100% DELICIOUS! I remember the first time I tasted their ice-cream; I was completely blown away by how creamy and moreish it was, and still is! That is why I had to use their vanilla ice-cream in my recipes. It only enhances the flavours in my desserts!


It has been a long time, probably several years, since I have had a proper sundae, one packed with gluten, dairy and refined-sugar. Yet, I have to say, I do not miss it as much as I thought I would. As a child I was a sucker for ice-cream, it was my favourite dessert to eat. I used to serve myself four scoops of Peter’s vanilla ice-cream every night after dinner, and then make my own sundaes on the weekend if I felt a little creative. However, after experimenting with more nutritious ingredients to form my own healthy sundae, I no longer feel the void of not being able to eat conventional sundaes.


In a sense, I am grateful that I don’t miss eating them as I am doing my body a favour by eating healthier substitutes that are not only beneficial to my health, but are ridiculously tasty!



Caramel Banana Sundae


GF DF V

Serves 1-2


INGREDIENTS

Sundae

- 4 scoops of vegan vanilla ice-cream (Pana Chocolate)

- 1 banana (mashed)

- 2/3 cup coconut milk

- 3 tbsp caramel sauce (*see notes below)

- 1/3 cup peanut butter


*Caramel Sauce

- 2 tbsp coconut sugar

- 2 tbsp coconut cream

- 1 tbsp coconut oil


METHOD

For the caramel sauce, place all of the ingredients into a saucepan. Bring the mixture to boil on medium heat. Let the caramel boil for 30 seconds whilst stirring consistently. Then turn the stove heat down to simmer for 5 minutes and continue to stir until the mixture begins to slightly thicken. Leave the caramel aside for 15 minutes to cool down.


To make the sundae, mix all of the ingredients together in a food blender but leave 2 out of the 4 scoops of ice-cream aside. Pour the sundae into a glass. Add the remaining 2 scoops of the vanilla ice-cream into the glass, and then drizzle the caramel sauce on top.





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page